What Are Lipoproteins?


HOME > Lipoprotein

4 major Classes and 20 Subclasses of Lipoprotein

Lipoproteins refer to complex of cholesterol, TG (triglycerides) and proteins that transport lipids in the aqueous environment of blood stream. lipoproteins are classified into 4 major classes; CM (chylomicron), VLDL (very low density lipoprotein), LDL (low density lipoprotein) and HDL (high density lipoprotein).

In line with findings in recent studies, LipoSEARCH adopts more fractionated classification; 20 subclasses on the top of 4 major classes. Analyzing cholesterol and TG levels of subclasses helps clinicians to make more accurate diagnosis, thus serving for prevention, early detection and treatment of cardiovascular and other lifestyle-related diseases.
Read more about subclasses

Lipoprotein Metabolism

The handling of lipoproteins in the body is referred to as lipoprotein metabolism. It is divided into two pathways, exogenous and endogenous, depending in large part on whether the lipoproteins in question are composed chiefly of dietary (exogenous) lipids or whether they originated in the liver (endogenous).

Page Top